Sorry – There are a Lot of Things You Don’t Have a “Right” To

Warren Meyer at Coyote Blog provides an interesting way to evaluate claims by many that the Supreme Court’s Hobby Lobby decision is “denying” birth control to women.

I don’t think anyone would say:life liberty and property

  • Help!  I have been denied access to housing because my employer won’t pay my mortgage
  • Help!  I have been denied access to clothing because my employer won’t pay my Nordstrom bill
  • Help!  I have been denied access to leisure because my employer won’t pay my resort bill
  • Help!  I have been denied access to child care because my employer won’t pay my nanny
  • Help!  I have been denied access to food because my employer won’t pay my grocery bill

Yet half the country seems to be saying

  • Help!  I have been denied access to birth control because my employer won’t pay for it

His analysis is indeed a reflection of the mind of most responsible people: they wouldn’t think of saying they’ve been denied something because somebody else wouldn’t pay for it. However, I think there are a lot of people in this country now (for various reasons) that would say these things. They’ve been inculcated with some misplaced idea of “rights” that have nothing to do with natural rights (the ones that can’t be granted by men, and can’t be taken away without your consent).

via Coyote Blog | Dispatches from District 48.

Comments are closed.

